Sample (Poetry)

THE MORNING

An expansion beckons through light
Yet the lack of closure threatens as if it’s night
Squawking birds flirt with my ears
While inner chronicles explain sunk years

But a lining of bright yellow there is
On a sea of drab hit and miss
As more introductions reach my senses
So too a numbness seeps into my intentions

A motion here, a motion there
Some goop, some smell, some tells and some hair
Life abounds in a sleeping promise
Death abounds in a dormant crevice

What to do, what not to do, far and near, it all awaits
Beneath surfaces unseen, in the deepening dungeons, although growing steadily, fear abates
A small stub, at long last, pokes through the linen embrace
Then a world bears out, shrinking unsteadily, effacing and spacing, on my stalking face

Back to Home Page
Back to My process and rates

Leave a comment